We Say Thanksgiving, Why Not Merry Christmas?

As people conversed today at my work, many a “Happy Thanksgiving” was given and returned.  A scant few people I know do not celebrate Thanksgiving in any way, and all of them are from other countries where it is not a Holiday. 

That is OK (if I were them, I would gladly celebrate any holiday that gave me an opportunity to share time with family AND have a huge feast, but I understand and support their decisions).

So, I was thinking, why is it OK for us to say “Happy Thanksgiving” but in 30 days, not “Merry Christmas”?

It is Political Correctness, yes, I know that.  But why?  Christians founded this country and we celebrate that holiday (which comes from the words “holy day”).  Why did a war get declared on Christianity by the Thought Police.  Not OK in my book.

So, I decided a few years ago that I would say “Merry Christmas” and if someone told me they were Jewish, I would say “Happy Hanukkah” and if they are something else wish them that as well.

So, have a Happy Thanksgiving and next month, I will be wishing you a Merry Christmas.

One response to “We Say Thanksgiving, Why Not Merry Christmas?

  1. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Leave a Reply

